Marathon

Posted: 04/24/2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Well today (Sunday 22 April 2012) was the London Marathon or as its officially called now a days, the Virgin London Marathon. The people who ran the race are inspirational in each of their own rights. But the race made me think of one of my idols and someone I inspire to be like in life. Sir Richard Branson. I doubt I will ever match him pound for pound money wise with Richard and his millions. But I would like to think I can match him on his philosophy in life. Follow your dream no matter how extreme or out of the box it might be, if you believe in it you will make it happen.

Richard has undertaken all sorts of things in his life. From starting up a school magazine when he was 16, signing up Mike Oldfield as his first Virgin artist, to record attempts across the Atlantic Ocean and hot air ballon attempts around the globe. Richard does not quite seem to grasp the concept of the word “imposible” he goes out of his way to prove this word does not exist. Granted Richard has not always been “Mr Popular” as you have to be a bit ruthless to get to top of your game. Its a dog eat dog world out there. And playing with the big boys of industry can meen that some players don’t play by the rules. One of the things that inspires me about Richard is he does not hid behind this fact. He will admit that he may not have played by the rules. It takes a proud man who can admit things like that.

Other things that inspire me about Sir Richard Branson is how approchable he appears to be. I have never met him but you hear stories like how he knows the name of the people in his office, even down to the cleaner. Recently I started to follow Richard on Twitter  and came across the fact that Richard, like me, likes to blog ( you can see his blog here ) and one of the things he did was a series of video blogs.( Ask Richard Video Blogs ) These blogs were an open forum for people to ask him questions via Twitter or Facebook and other social networks. Normal people like you and me asking all sorts of questions. This just goes to show how approchable Sir Richard is, that he is taking the time to let us ask him questions. So many people in power or in the public view don’t take the time to acknowledge the little people. Especially if its the little people that have put them in this power.

I guess the other reasons I like Richard Branson so much besides his positive go getum attitude is that he has not let his dyslexia get the better of him. He has not played the disability card. I am dyslexia too and it has not stopped me from getting to where I am in life and at work. Richard is proof that this learning disability does not need to hold you back in life and the sky is the limit ( Richard is now reaching for the stars though with Virgin Galactic haha so maybe the sky is not the limit ! )

If you can dream it you can do it if you put your mind to it.

Comments
  1. Kev Jones says:

    Good blog today Pete 🙂 x

  2. John says:

    Good post Pete, I like to see stories about people who have made it through life and made something of themselves from nothing.

    • m1tnt says:

      Cheers John, I too love stories about people that have risen from the ashes so to speak and bounced back stronger and better. If they can do it so can anyone else.

  3. Ged says:

    I agree with the others – great post! Very inspiring! So are you shooting into space anytime soon? 😉

Leave a Reply

