“Inspire a generation”

Posted: 04/19/2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

This is the motto of the 2012 London Olympic. “Inspire a generation”

Now I try not to be a cynic about things but the Olympic mmm its a hard one not to be cynical about. But when I saw today on the BBC News website that the motto for the 2012 London Olympic is “Inspire a generation” it annoyed me a bit  and my inner cynic has come to the front. Now when I started this blog it was intended to be positive and I will try and put a positive spin on this post if I can but only time will tell. I guess the same is true for the Olympic and if it will truly “Inspire a generation”, only time will tell.

My issue with the Olympic and its motto is that so far the 2012 Olympic has been plagued by being over budget and elitist. Its meant to be the games that will bring the Great back into Great Britain. But so far it seems to have failed on this one. People so far just see the games as being a way for the rich to get richer and nothing for the people. Tickets have been hard to come by and expensive.  Contracts have been given to companies out side of the UK all these things have not really inspired people here in the UK. Also not to mention the chaos that the Olympic’s will bring to London. The impact that it will have on businesses can not be fully realised just yet. My friend,fellow blogger and Londoner, Spectacular Sentience, has posted a blog about the 100 days to the 2012 London Olympic Games and how he too is worried about the chaos the games will bring to London and how he feels a lot like me and many others about how the Olympic’s may fail to inspire. You can read his blog post here.

The normal Olympic’s don’t really inspire me to be honest. Yes it has loads and loads of competitors all competing to be the best that they can be. Yes they have put in a lot of blood sweat and tears in order to become the best that their respective countries have to offer and they are the at the top of their game.  But its the Paralympic, thats where the true grit comes from. People who have decided that they will not be a victim of their disability but will show the world that they are as able as any abled bodied person in the world. Some of the Paralympian’s are probable more able now than they were ever before they became disabled. ( in our eyes ) These people are the true inspiration of the modern Olympic Games! And I am sure that it will be these athletes that will “Inspire a generation” and show us no matter what we can achieve great things against all odd’s with the right frame of mind and attitude.

Comments
  1. Kev Jones says:

    As a fitness professional I am disgusted at the likes of MacDonalds being allowed to sponsor supposedly HEALTH related sporting spectacles such as the OLYMPICS!!! I’m saying no more… 🙂

    I guess everything comes down to BUSINESS at the end of the day… as a fitpro I myself have to balance my passion for what I do with making a dollar or three out of it… inspiring versus business… maybe the Olympics are just the same!?

    • m1tnt says:

      Kev, I think your right it’s just a business at the end of the day and they need to make money. The IOC is just as ruthless as any other global brand out there.

  2. Ged says:

    Great post! Thanks for the track back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

